Pink Monkey Knits

Using my opposable thumbs to knit up a storm!

Tuesday, July 06, 2004

100 Things About Me 

Because you've been clamoring for it...

1. I learned to knit in the spring of 2002 but didn't get really into it until January 2004.
2. My obsession was fueled by my roommate getting me the Stitch N Bitch book for a Hanukkah/graduation present.
3. Previous to this time, I did not know that you turn your work after finishing a row.
4. I was born in Pittsburgh and lived there for two non-consecutive chunks totaling 7 years.
5. I also lived in South Florida for 11 years.
6. I hate South Florida.
7. I currently live in a pretty hip neighborhood in Washington, DC.
8. I'd eventually like to live on the West coast not only because I love it but because I think I'd really regret it if I didn't for at least a portion of my life.
9. I am an NPR junkie.
10. I hate Seinfeld.
11. I really, really, really want a dog.
12. My fantasy is to get a girl puppy and name her Twyla.
13. Neither my life or income is stable enough right now for me to be able to make a 12 or 15 year commitment to anything, much less another living creature.
14. I have been a vegetarian for 5 years.
15. I was a non-committed vegan for about 9 months but gave it up when I went on a trip to Israel.
16. I became a vegetarian because of my health, my objections to the factory farming system and my belief that meat and animal products are no longer necessary for human survival.
17. I refuse to wear thong underwear on principle.
18. My infatuation with monkeys started when I was in middle school, when my good friend and I started randomly inserting the word into our sentences.
19. My favorite monkey is the bonobo.
20. I want to found a revolutionary philosophy based on the bonobo lifestyle called Bonoboism.
21. I now refer to my boyfriend as "monkey," "monkster" or "monks."
22. He actually answers to these names.
23. I met my boyfriend at a bar, which just goes to prove that you can meet nice, kind, amazingly wonderful people in these establishments.
24. My infatuation with the color pink started when I was a sophomore or junior in high school. Before then, I hated it.
25. I think I became really attracted to it because I wanted to be more overtly feminine.
26. Most of my outfits include pink, black or red, often together.
27. My brother lives in Jerusalem but will be moving to the West Bank in the fall.
28. I have an excellent copy of Purple Rain on vinyl that includes a poster of Prince and his band at the time in their full 80's, purple regalia.
29. I graduated from college in 3 1/2 years.
30. My major was Sociology and my minor was Communication.
31. Since I've graduated, I really am straongly disinclined to return to college campus, even if it's for events, like concerts or conference, that I would strongly enjoy.
32. I participated in the Semester at Sea program in Fall 2002, where I essentially sailed around the world.
33. It was totally sweet.
34. I'm pretty well-traveled for someone my age.
35. The countries I've been to are Canada, Mexico, England, the Czech Republic, Israel, Japan, China, Vietnam, Malaysia, India, Kenya, South Africa, Brazil and Cuba.
36. I took French for 4 1/2 years.
37. I finally visited France in February 2005 and was pleasantly surprised that my accent was still pretty good.
38. I also took a cross-country trip with one of my good friends where we traveled almost entirely by Greyhound bus.
39. This qualifies us for some super hardcore award.
40. I have been a voracious reader ever since I was a child.
41. Last year, I bought a corn cob pipe.
42. I take great pleasure in knowing how to get around my city on foot and by public transportation and love giving directions to others. Sometimes I approach people who look lost just so I can give them directions.
43. Sometimes I like how everything is politicized in this city and people are really informed about politics but sometimes I think it goes too far.
44. I'm not exactly sure where all of my political values lie these days but I broadly define myself as an anti-capitalist.
45. I haven't figured out what I think could replace capitalism yet, though.
46. My feminist beliefs are also very important to me and I will probably spend most of my life working on women's issues.
47. George W. Bush has made a mockery of any value that we have as Americans and as world citizens.
48. I've been at most of the major protests held in DC since I moved here.
49. The best was the March for Women's Lives, which was absolutely massive.
50. I'm a really good burper.
51. I would like to be in better shape.
52. Sometimes I can be oblivious to other people when I'm trying to accomplish things, which I consider to be a weak point.
53. I am a very disorganized person except for my CD collection, which is kept in meticulous alphabetical order, and my financial records.
54. I'm really into music, particularly that of the indie, garage, hip-hop, electro-pop, pop, and general rock n roll varieties.
55. I love to find good new music, but neither this search nor obscure music trivia rule my life.
56. I have been into crafty and creative things ever since I was a child.
57. I bought my sewing machine in 5th grade with a gift certificate I won from a local call-in homework help show.
58. I was never very good at finishing the projects that I would sew.
59. I did, however, succeed at making a throw blanket-sized quilt almost entirely by hand.
60. I never was as good at any of the other crafts I dabbled in as I am with knitting.
61. I do still do a little sewing, mostly deconstruction/reconstruction of clothes.
62. If I have enough money, I plan to volunteer in India for a few months at the beginning of 2005 - I accomplished this and actually ended up teaching knitting to two women's groups in the Himalayan foothills. You can read some about my trip my India Trip Blog.
63. I would love to have a job that required travel to India, or most other places for that matter.
64. I took two semesters of sign language in high school.
65. I really want to learn Spanish now, especially since I hear it around me so much every single day.
66. I know very, very little about HTML; many of the revisions done to this website were done with the help of a work copy of Dreamweaver, which I also know very little about and significant trial and error.
67. My favorite Nintendo game is Karate Champ.
68. My dad, brother and I all stand in the same backwards hands on our hips way.
69. My brother and I are very close and very alike in our basic outlooks and attitudes.
70. In high school, I tried to start a trend where "barb" would become a synonym for Mom because it's my mom's name and it seems to just fit.
71. It caught on with my friends, who referred to their moms as barb 2, barb 3, etc but that was about as far as it went.
72. I have criticisms about the institutions of marriage but think that gay marriage is way cute.
73. I could eat a burrito anytime, anywhere. I constantly crave them.
74. My favorite t-shirt is magenta and says "This is no ordinary housewife you're dealing with."
75. My hair is naturally curly and dark brown.
76. It is currently a nice auburnish color.
77. I consider my hair to be one of my defining characteristics and part of my personality.
78. When I was in 4th grade, my hairdresser gave me an awful, awful mullet.
79. My nickname as it was growing out was Fro, because that's what it turned into.
80. I am not very punctual but I'm working on it.
81. I am, however, good with punctuation.
82. I am very verbose.
83. My favorite restaurant is Mad Mex in Pittsburgh, home of the delectable Chick Pea Chili Burrito.
84. I really, really like riding the Metro (the DC subway).
85. I have been taking more outdoors-y trips and adventures since I met my boyfriend. .
86. I wish I could paint the walls in my apartment.
87. I am Jewish; there are things about the religion that I think are beautiful and some things that I find disgraceful.
88. I am, however, interested in developing a better sense of spirituality.
89. Sometimes my Jewish identity makes me feel like a real outsider in mainstream American culture.
90. Finding humor in a situation should trump every other consideration.
91. I'm generally a happy, non moody kind of person.
92. I sneeze and laugh really loud.
93. I do not own a car and would like to continue not having one for as long as possible.
94. The day I get a Vespa Scooter will be the day I'm finally the coolest chick in town.
95. I watch the Simpsons semi-religiously.
96. I have to travel at least half an hour to get to any kind of yarn store.
97. I have a very close and special relationship with my aunt and, because of my frequent visits to her house as a child, I have a special fondness for the city of Chicago.
98. I am concerned with international and domestic reproductive rights.
99. I'm good at folding maps.
100. My favorite Peaches lyrics is a toss up between "My labia majora, dancin' the hora, soft as angora, you can't ignore-a it" and "Are the motherfuckers ready for the fatherfuckers? Are the fatherfuckers ready for the motherfuckers? Are the motherfuckers ready for the fatherfuckers? No."